Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

NFF: Chairman of Chairmen Ibrahim Gusau emerges Pinnick’s successor

Former Chairman of Chairmen of the Nigeria Football Federation, Ibrahim Musa Gusau has emerged the new President of the Nigerian football governing body.

In the 78th NFF Annual General Assembly held in Benin, election into new positions were held with Gusau, Chairman of Zamfara Football Association defeating Shehu Dikko, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi and others to emerge the President of the federation.

Gusau polled 21 votes to emerge President-elect but a runoff was held after Peterside Idah insisted on one. Idah had polled just one vote in the first round.

In the total of 41 votes polled in the runoff, 39 votes went to the Zamfara State Ministry of Finance civil servant, Gusau while Idah also polled one vote again.

Gusau, the experienced football administrator is expected to be in charge of the glasshouse for at least the next four years.

Doubts had emerged about the election holding after a court order had stopped it, but a Court of Appeal decision ordered a stay of execution on the previous ruling.

In this episode of CarBall with Babajide Guerrero, DJ CK feels Eric Ten Haag is the man for the job as he’s made some big decisions with Harry Maguire and Cristiano Ronaldo, and the new signings at Manchester United.

The contestants in the polls were; Seyi Akinwunmi, the NFF’s first Vice President and Mallam Shehu Dikko, the 2nd Vice President, as well as current Executive Committee Member, Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande.

Former Nigerian international, Peterside Idah and a UK-based football administrator, David Doherty also vied for the NFF’s top office.

Recall Pinnick served two tenures of four years each and his time in office is one of the most contentious and painstaking of any administration.

He is also the longest-serving NFF President in history.

Gusau’s victory also returns the NFF’s Presidency to the North after an eight-year hiatus.