Save 20% off! Join our newsletter and get 20% off right away!

Man City defeats Liverpool in a five-goal thriller to advance to the quarterfinals of the Carabao Cup.

After defeating Liverpool 3-2 at the Etihad on Thursday, Manchester City eliminated the defending champions from this year’s Carabao Cup.

For City, Erling Haaland, Riyad Mahrez, and Nathan Ake scored goals, whereas Fabio Carvalho and Mohammed Salah scored for Liverpool.

Prior to Carvalho tying the score for Liverpool 10 minutes later, Haaland broke the scoreless tie in the 10th minute.

Two minutes into the game, Mahrez gave City the lead again, but one minute after falling down 2-1, Salah made it 2-2.

However, City emerged victorious because Ake scored the game-winning goal in the 58th minute.

City now join Manchester United, Leicester, Charlton, Newcastle, Nottingham Forest, Southampton and Wolverhampton Wanderers in the last eight.

Recall City have won four of the last five Carabao Cup titles and will be gunning for their ninth this season.